Sow More Seeds

Grubs. Grubs are not my friend. Last fall someone came around to our neighborhood and said that grubs were going to be a problem this spring. I pride myself on being able to see a marketing scam when they come my way. I thought to myself, “I am not so easily fooled by doom and gloom lawn care predictions.” When Spring arrived I discovered I was a fool with grubs. They ate big holes in my lawn and I knew I had to go to work to plant new grass. So, I killed the grubs and spread seeds on the open ground. I watered the seeds and then dusted off my hands thinking I had taken care of the problem. But I simply made a feast for the birds and weeds took over. My seed to new grass return rate was very low. I realized it was going to take a lot more seeds in order to restore my lawn.

Jesus told a similar story to his disciples where he described the rate of return of the seeds of God’s word in impacting people’s lives.

“A farmer went out to sow his seed. As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path, and the birds came and ate it up. Some fell on rocky places, where it did not have much soil. It sprang up quickly, because the soil was shallow. But when the sun came up, the plants were scorched, and they withered because they had no root. Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants. Still other seed fell on good soil, where it produced a crop—a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown. Whoever has ears, let them hear.”

Jesus goes on to interpret the parable to his disciples. He explained that the seed was God’s word and the soils were four different kinds of responses to God’s word. The seeds sown on hard packed, rocky and thorny soils did not bring a return. Of the four types of soil, only the good soil brought a return. According to the parable, the return rate was 25%–not a bad return on an investment these days–but a reminder that more seeds bring more return.

So here is the big idea: sow lots of seeds. By that I mean. Share your faith in word and action many times each day. When you do that the impact you desire to see in other people’s lives will have a much greater opportunity to be realized. How do you do that? Here are some simple ways.

  • Live a life of compassion and kindness with those in your life.
  • Commit to integrity in your actions at home and work.
  • Show genuine care for those around you.
  • Share what you learned on Sunday to someone in your life.
  • Be intentional in investing in people’s lives.
  • Talk about your faith and your commitment to God as a normal part of your day. If you are reading a great Christian book, make a comment about it. If you see God at work, point it out in conversation.
  • Make invitations. Invite people to join you on Sunday. Invite people to read a book you are reading. Invite people to check out Community Church online. Invite them to an event that is coming up. Invite them to a volunteer opportunity at Community Church.
  • Tell someone you will pray for them. (And really do it.)
  • Make a Facebook or Twitter post about your faith.

How can you sow lots of seeds this week with the five people on your impact card (those people you are praying for and with whom you are sharing your faith)?

One thought on “Sow More Seeds

  1. Bice little parable. What I needed at this moment. I have been sewing seeds. But feeling depressed lately. That helped!

Leave a Reply

